Two colour ricotta and chocolate cake

Over the weekend I had friends around. We had a super mega party with tons of food and so much laugh that I was in tears! This is what happens when you are with good genuine friends you feel totally at ease with: all Italians who have been living in England for a long time so we had lots in common and lots to talk about.

My friends brought the starters over: different dips, mini sandwiches, focaccia and prosciutto. I made a zucchini and speck lasagna as a first course and Mediterranean salmon in orange sauce with rosemary potato wedges as a second course. Then we had strawberries and watermelon and finally a super rich chocolate cake which I made especially for hubby’s birthday. I felt so lifted on the evening.. being with good friends and people you feel good with is highly therapeutic! Better than any medicine in the world!

Last week I made another chocolate cake but a less laborious one suitable for any day of the week and quicker to make. Ricotta is just so good in cakes, it makes them moist and delicious and it is light too. Very often I make tiramisu’ with it, I swap mascarpone for ricotta for a much lighter version of this fabulous dessert.

  • Prep Time : 20 minutes
  • Cook Time : 35 minutes
  • Yield : 6

Ingredients

  • For the chocolate layer:
  • plain flour – 250 g – just over 2 cups
  • baking powder – 2 tsp
  • eggs – 3
  • ricotta cheese – 125 g – just over 1/2 cup
  • sugar – 120 g – 1/2 cup
  • cocoa powder – 40 g – 3/8 cup
  • lemon zest – of 1 lemon
  • orange essence – 1 tsp
  • milk – 60 ml – 2 fl oz or extra if needed
  • olive oil – 3 tbsp
  • For the white layer:
  • ricotta cheese – 375 g – 1 + 2/3 cup
  • powdered sugar – 50 g – 3/8 cup
  • egg – 1
  • vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • cocoa powder – to sprinkle

Instructions

In a bowl whisk the eggs with the sugar, add the ricotta, the olive oil, cocoa powder, the orange essence and the lemon zest. Stir well then add the sifted flour and the baking powder. Mix well to combine all the ingredients. Add enough milk to get a smooth consistency.

Chocolate ricotta cake

Grease well a round baking tin measuring 20 cm or 8 inch and pour in the chocolate mixture. Level it well with the back of a spoon.

Let’s make the white ricotta layer.

In a separate bowl mix the ricotta with the vanilla essence, the egg and the powdered sugar. Mix well and pour it onto the chocolate layer. Level it well.

Bake at 180C oe 350F for 35 to 40 minutes. Check for doneness with a toothpick.

Let the cake cool down, remove it from the mold and dust with cocoa powder.

Two colour ricotta chocolate cake slice

15 thoughts on “Two colour ricotta and chocolate cake

    1. In Italy I always buy fresh ricotta from the dairy (still warm!) and I have it on a slice of bread.. it is just to die for!

      Like

  1. Cheesecake and chocolate together sounds like my sort of cake Alida. Thanks for sharing this beautiful creation with #WeShouldCocoa. If this is your idea of simple, I’d love to see what you made your husband.

    It’s been a long time since we had dinner with good friends – I left most of them behind in Cornwall.

    Like

  2. Hello, we were very excited to make this cake. Unfortunately the 8 inch cake pan left the base uncooked. I questioned the 8 inch pan when comparing it to your picture and should have gone with my gut and used my 10 inch. My cake was raw on the base. Any thoughts?

    Like

    1. Hi Anna,
      I am not sure this has anything to do with the size of the tin but rather the cooking time and the amount of moisture of the mixture. It worked for me so I am just wondering whether the temperature of the oven had anything to do with it. Different ovens can work differently and you might have needed to cook it for a little longer. Did you find that your mixture before cooking it was very runny? I am sorry it didn’t work out for you.

      Like

Leave a comment